Getting to Know the Duwamish

June 8th, 2015

I’ve heard a lot about the Duwamish River, but what is it really like? Is it a dead river? What do we use it for? Is there hope for the future?

I’m swimming the Duwamish to see the river for myself. I’ll start in the mountains where the Green River forms the headwaters of the Duwamish. By this October, I hope to reach Harbor Island where the Duwamish joins Puget Sound.

Join me in your own journey of discovery. We’ll look underwater and on land as we explore some of the river’s stories.

I grew up on Oregon’s rivers, and I’ve spent a lot of time around water all over the world. From high mountain creeks to the deep sea, water has always attracted me. Now I want to find the heart of the Duwamish, a river I see almost every day but hardly know. I’m just getting started and I’ve already found more than a few surprises. I can hardly wait to see what comes next.

